PSE logo
Focused certification exam prep
Start practice

PSE Passing Score 2026: Exactly What You Need to Pass

TL;DR
  • The Product Safety Engineer written exam uses a 70% average passing criterion across 50 multiple-choice questions.
  • The exam allows four hours, open book and open notes, with a scientific calculator permitted.
  • The issuer publishes 25 unweighted Examination Topics, not percentages, so no topic can be called "highest-weighted."
  • Results arrive within 10 working days; a failed attempt means a 90-day wait before retaking.

What "Passing" Means for the Product Safety Engineer Exam

Candidates searching for the passing score of the Product Safety Engineer (PSE) credential usually want one number. The good news is that the issuer, Exemplar Global (through its iNARTE program), publishes one: a 70% average passing criterion for the written exam. The less comfortable news is that the surrounding details are thin. There is no published scaled-score range, no cut-score adjustment between exam forms, and no weighted blueprint telling you how many of the 50 questions come from each topic.

This article separates what is documented from what is not, so you can plan around real facts instead of forum rumors. Throughout, "PSE" means the Product Safety Engineer credential from Exemplar Global/iNARTE, the full Engineer-level certification rather than the Associate or Technician tiers. If you are new to the credential itself, start with What Is PSE Certification? for background, then return here for scoring specifics.

Format and the 70% Criterion

The documented written exam looks like this:

ElementPublished detail
Question count50 multiple-choice questions
Time allowedFour hours
Passing criterion70% average
Reference materialsOpen book / open notes
CalculatorScientific calculator allowed
Results turnaroundWithin 10 working days
Retake wait90 days

Four hours for 50 questions works out to roughly 4.8 minutes per question, which is generous by certification standards. That pacing tells you something about the exam's character: these are not rapid-recall items. They reward looking up the right clause, working through a creepage or clearance determination, or reasoning through a hazard scenario.

How to read "70% average": The issuer's wording is an average passing criterion. The retrieved public sources do not explain whether "average" refers to a single exam's raw percentage or to some aggregation across components. Treat 70% as the minimum overall result you must reach, and aim well above it so ambiguity never matters.

What the Issuer Does Not Publish

A lot of third-party content about certification exams invents precision. For the Product Safety Engineer exam, the following are not verifiable from the issuer's public materials:

  • Official per-topic percentages or a weighted domain blueprint
  • Which of the 25 Examination Topics carries the most questions
  • A published pass rate for the global Engineer exam (see PSE Pass Rate 2026: What the Data Shows for how to interpret the limited data)
  • A dated exam-form identifier or any statement about equivalence between regional and global exam forms
  • Whether items are weighted equally, or whether any scoring adjustment applies

The 25 headings in the iNARTE Personnel Certification Catalog are described by the issuer as Examination Topics. They are not a preparation curriculum, and they are not weighted. That distinction matters for how you budget study time, which we cover below. For a topic-by-topic walkthrough, see PSE Exam Domains 2026: Complete Guide to All 25 Content Areas.

A caution about regional notices: A Japanese regional examination notice exists for iNARTE Product Safety exams, and it covers combined Engineer and Technician candidates under local rules. Its eligibility, fees and statistics are not global Product Safety Engineer facts, and nothing in this article imports them.

Turning 70% into a Practical Target

With 50 questions and a 70% criterion, simple arithmetic puts the threshold at 35 correct answers. That figure is a calculation from the published numbers, assuming each question counts equally. The issuer does not state item weighting, so treat 35 as a planning estimate rather than an official cut.

Why you should target higher than 35

Three reasons argue for aiming at roughly 40 or more correct in practice:

  1. Unweighted topics mean unpredictable emphasis. Without a blueprint, a form could lean heavily on a topic you studied lightly.
  2. Scenario items are unforgiving. One misread assumption in a risk-assessment or hazard-analysis question can cost the point even when your method was sound.
  3. The retake delay is 90 days. A buffer is cheaper than a quarter-year wait and a repeat of preparation.

Key Takeaway

Plan to clear 35 of 50 as a floor, but build readiness for the whole 25-topic span. Because the issuer publishes no weights, uniform competence beats a deep-but-narrow strategy.

Open-Book Reality: How It Changes Your Score Strategy

Open book and open notes is the single most distinctive feature of this exam, and it reshapes what a passing score demands. Memorizing a clause number is rarely the bottleneck. Finding, interpreting and applying it under time pressure is.

What open-book does and does not do

  • It reduces pure recall risk. Definitions, tables and test-condition values can be looked up if your notes are organized.
  • It raises the bar on application. Questions can be built so that having the standard does not hand you the answer; you must pick the right provision and apply it to the scenario.
  • It punishes disorganization. Four hours disappears quickly if every question sends you hunting through unindexed material.

Practical steps for building a usable reference set:

  1. Create a topic-indexed binder or digital notes mapped to the 25 Examination Topics.
  2. Pre-tab frequently needed material: insulation categories, creepage and clearance tables, fault-condition test sequences, and declaration-of-conformity content requirements.
  3. Write short decision flows for recurring tasks, such as "determine insulation type, then determine required creepage and clearance, then verify test voltage."
  4. Keep a one-page list of formulas and a scientific-calculator routine you have rehearsed.

For a compact version of the facts worth keeping at hand, see the PSE Cheat Sheet 2026: One-Page Review of Must-Know Facts. Note that the exam rules on exactly which materials you may bring should be confirmed with Exemplar Global before test day, since this article summarizes the published open-book/open-notes policy rather than a line-by-line materials list.

The 25 Topics Where Points Are Won or Lost

The issuer lists 25 Examination Topics. They cluster naturally into groups, which helps you notice where a 50-question form is likely to sample broadly. The grouping below is an organizing aid for study, not an official weighting.

Electrical Hazard Fundamentals

Topics: Connection to supply; Isolation of supply; Earthing; Types of Insulation; Protection against electrical shock; Insulation damage; Creepage.

  • Know how insulation types relate to the protection concept they provide.
  • Be ready to work creepage determinations, since the global catalog supplies "Creepage" as its topic wording.
  • Understand how earthing and isolation interact in fault scenarios.

Fire, Thermal and Mechanical Hazards

Topics: Mechanical hazards; Resistance to fire; Fire hazards; Limits on fuel; Limits on heat.

  • Distinguish resistance of materials to fire from the hazard created by the product's own energy and fuel.
  • Practice reasoning about heat limits as a design constraint, not just a test result.

Design and Analysis Methods

Topics: Inter system and intra system design; Equipment design; Hazard analysis; Risk assessment; Design review.

  • These topics lend themselves to scenario questions where several answers sound reasonable.
  • Be able to explain the sequence from hazard identification to risk evaluation to design mitigation.

Regulatory, Conformity and Documentation

Topics: Legislation US, EEC and International; Military and Civil Electrical Safety Standards; Safety tests; Assessment authorities; Competent Bodies; Safety certification; Declarations of Conformity; Operating and maintenance instructions and handbooks.

  • Know who does what: the roles of assessment authorities versus competent bodies.
  • Understand what a declaration of conformity must contain and what supports it.
  • Recognize how instructions and handbooks serve as part of the safety design.

Because the retrieved global catalog is the source for these topics, the wording "Creepage" and "Military and Civil Electrical Safety Standards" reflects the global version, and regional notices use different phrasing. Do not assume wording from a regional notice appears verbatim on a global exam.

Eligibility, Fees and Retake Rules That Affect Your Score Plan

Passing the exam is only one gate. You also need an accepted application. Missing documentation can delay your attempt more surely than a low score. A full treatment is in PSE Requirements 2026: Eligibility, Prerequisites & How to Qualify; the essentials are below.

What the catalog requires

  • STEM college or university transcript or diploma evidence
  • Qualifying engineering experience assessed against nine years
  • A current resume and an ethics agreement

Experience credits are generous but capped. A four-year accredited engineering qualification earns four years of credit; each satisfactorily completed accredited engineering year earns one year; a BSET earns two years; engineering postgraduate study can add up to one year; and qualifying teaching can add up to two years. Combined education and teaching credit is capped at five years. Other curricula are individually evaluated.

Don't double count the nine years: The issuer's Credly badge summary mentions a four-year STEM degree or equivalent plus nine years of experience. Read that alongside the catalog's credit rules. It does not mean nine additional years after the degree, because education credit counts toward the nine.

Published fees

FeeAmount
Application$50
Certification$260
Annual renewal$150
Initial application plus certification (calculated)$310

The $310 figure is the sum of the application and certification fees, not a separately quoted exam-only price. The sources do not explicitly label the currency as USD, and no member versus non-member fee split is published. For a full breakdown including budgeting considerations, see PSE Certification Cost 2026: Complete Pricing Breakdown.

The 90-day retake wait interacts with scheduling. If you are working against a job-related deadline, check PSE Exam Dates 2026: Testing Windows, Deadlines & Scheduling and plan so that a first-attempt miss does not strand you past a promotion or project milestone.

Sequencing Your Prep by Topic

Since no topic is officially weighted, sequence your preparation by dependency rather than by guessed emphasis. Foundations first, so that later applied topics have something to build on. One short, PSE-specific plan:

Weeks 1-2

Insulation and shock protection core

  • Types of Insulation, Earthing, Isolation of supply, Connection to supply
  • Build the insulation-to-protection mapping in your notes
Weeks 3-4

Distances, damage and tests

  • Creepage, Insulation damage, Protection against electrical shock, Safety tests
  • Rehearse worked creepage problems with your calculator
Weeks 5-6

Fire, heat and mechanical

  • Resistance to fire, Fire hazards, Limits on fuel, Limits on heat, Mechanical hazards
Weeks 7-8

Analysis and compliance

  • Hazard analysis, Risk assessment, Design review, Legislation, Assessment authorities, Competent Bodies, Declarations of Conformity, handbooks
  • Finish with timed mixed sets and a full open-book rehearsal

Adjust the timeline to your background. A candidate with years in compliance testing may compress the first four weeks, while a design engineer new to conformity assessment may need extra time on the regulatory cluster. For a fuller planning framework, see the PSE Study Guide 2026: How to Pass on Your First Attempt, and for a realistic read on workload, How Hard Is the PSE Exam? Complete Difficulty Guide 2026. No mandatory preparation-hour total is published by the issuer, so any specific hours figure you see elsewhere is an estimate, not a requirement.

To test your readiness against exam-style questions, work through the practice questions on the PSE Exam Prep practice test site under timed, open-book conditions, so your reference-lookup speed is part of what you measure.

Results, Retakes and Renewal

Results are reported within 10 working days. If you do not reach the 70% criterion, the 90-day retake wait applies. Use it for targeted repair: reconstruct which topic clusters felt weakest, rebuild the corresponding sections of your notes, and re-run timed sets before rebooking.

After certification, the work continues. Annual renewal is $150 and requires 30 continuing professional development hours per 12-month certification period, with evidence, recorded under the issuer's CPD log process. Keep a running log from day one so renewal is administrative rather than a scramble.

If you are still deciding whether the credential justifies the effort and fees, the Is the PSE Certification Worth It? Complete ROI Analysis 2026 article weighs it against career outcomes, and PSE Salary Guide 2026: Complete Earnings Analysis covers compensation context. When you are ready to measure yourself, try a timed set at the main practice test page.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the passing score for the Product Safety Engineer exam?

The published passing criterion is a 70% average on the written exam, which has 50 multiple-choice questions. Assuming equal weighting, that is about 35 correct answers, though the issuer does not state item weighting, so treat 35 as a planning estimate.

Is the exam open book?

Yes. The written exam is published as open book and open notes, and a scientific calculator is allowed. Confirm specific permitted materials with Exemplar Global before test day, since this summary reflects the general policy rather than a detailed materials list.

Are some of the 25 topics weighted more heavily than others?

The issuer publishes the 25 Examination Topics without percentages, so no official weighting or highest-weighted topic can be cited. Prepare across all 25 topics rather than betting on a guessed emphasis.

How long do I wait for results, and what if I fail?

Results are available within 10 working days. If you do not meet the 70% criterion, there is a 90-day wait before you can retake the exam.

Does the passing score differ in other regions?

The 70% criterion here comes from the global Product Safety Engineer information. Regional notices, such as the Japanese iNARTE notice, follow their own eligibility, fees and statistics, and equivalence between regional and global exam forms is not verified. Do not apply regional numbers to the global exam.

Ready to pass your PSE exam?

Put this into practice with free PSE questions across every exam domain.